2017.5

I’ve written dozens of “first blog posts” over the years that have never seen the light of day. However, this one will surface simply because it feels right. Everything just feels right for once and I feel confident in launching this creative space. Maybe it’s because I’ve learned to pursue my interests unapologetically and make that jump. Or it might be my need for an outlet of self-expression. Regardless, I’m excited to fully pursue this creative space called To Unearth.

I came across the word unearth when I was in Chicago. (If my hosts are reading this, hi! I love you all and still have your care package. Shipping was awfully expensive and impossible.) It’s only one word but it’s quite meaningful. Heck, I even have a pendant with the word on it, which was an indicator to label this place as To Unearth. The sole purpose of this creative space is to dig and discover something new, which can be epiphanous, inspiring, or pieces of ourselves. 

In my first video, I reflect on the past six months of 2017 while showing you pieces of home. It’s been a whirlwind, but definitely kinder to me than 2016. I’ve gained wisdom and worked on self-love. I’m making my health a priority and training for a marathon. I’ve learned that I’m a person who hates smiling but adores laughing. As I get older, dark chocolate is tastier. Bullet journaling is my jam. Love will find me, so don’t worry about it. And most importantly, I’m growing, moving forward, and not looking back. Oh! Also to not get bangs ever again. I look like 14 year old version me who is ready to conquer high school. Not a good phase.

So yes, here I am, finally taking that jump to create this blog I’ve wanted to for so long. Not to extend this post any longer or get too sappy, I just want to thank everyone who’s stayed my by side. Through every disappearance and unresponded text, thank you for loving me. Your patience and selflessness inspires me to be a better person than I was yesterday. I’m hard to love (and I’m working on it!), so thank you. Without you all, I would not be who I am today. This is for you. Love you all.

2017.5

Leave a Reply

